Home

Virgin Blogger

February 3, 2012

Strange title for midwife, but it is what I am today, 3rd February 2012.

I attended a workshop today about Leadership for Informed Practice. It was about using technical innovation to enhance leadership and care within the healthcare field. It was so stimulating and inspiring I was prompted to come home and start my own Midwifery Blogg.

I have been looking for some time for a forum to write, to express myself, to share my experience and insight into the realm of childbearing. I have felt recently frustrated and constrained by circumstances and now realise there is another way I can share my ideas and potentially influence women and midwives to share the best birth experiences possible.

Firstly I should tell you a little about me. I started as a Student Nurse in 1982 and completed my Midwifery training in 1986. I have been in continuous practice since. I have worked in many maternity units in the UK, Saudi Arabia and the Channel Islands in cities and in the countryside.  My career has allowed me to be a midwife, a researcher, an educator, a manager and a developer of services. I have worked in the community, birth centres, busy delivery suites and antenatal and postnatal wards.

Aged 50, it is now the time to share my knowledge and skills with whoever wishes to read. I anticipate some colleagues and some women will find my postings interesting, thought provoking and potentially challenging.  I welcome your feedback

I intend to write about pregnancy, birth, and the role of the midwife. I am really interested in the psychology of childbirth, women with raised BMI, and the social aspects of breastfeeding.

I will try and write with as much evidence base as I can but I a make no apology for allowing my instincts, empathy and well known northern directness colouring my approach.

Meet you next time.

Helen Young RGN RM MA BA(Hons)IIR

Leave a Reply

