Home

Watching

June 12, 2014

WordPress101 Daily challenge.  Day 8 Death to Adverbs

Go to a local café, park, or public place and report on what you see. Get detailed: leave no nuance behind.  Thoughtful writers create meaning by choosing precise words to create vivid pictures in the reader’s mind. As you strive to create strong imagery, show your readers what’s going on; avoid telling them.

Today’s twist: write an adverb-free post. If you’d rather not write a new post, revisit and edit a previous one: excise your adverbs and replace them with strong, precise verbs.

 

Watching

Having been a midwife for nearly thirty years, I have developed a strange habit, that arises if I am in a any position to observe the world.  I watch pregnant women.

I like them.  I think they are beautiful, goddess like.  A part of me is jealous of them as I have never had children and will not have them now.  Goodness, it is the fulfilment of a woman’s body to be able to bear a child. They should be adored. We are watching the future of mankind.

They are all different, but with my experience I believe I can now spot a Mulitip (Had a baby before)  or a Primip (First time)  by the way her bump is carried. Yes, the odd child hand in hand is a clue, but all pregnant women are different.

There is the earth mother type resplendent in her long dress sat over near the window. She is dressed for comfort and cover. She is eating a vegetarian wrap.  Then over near the information stand is the designer mother, resplendent in the latest creation. She wants to show off her bump to the best effect but accentuates the fact that the rest of her figure has not changed at all.   The midwife in me wonders if she is eating enough to feed herself and her baby. She is extraordinarily slim yet has an obvious pregnancy.

Seated close by is the ‘let’s be comfortable’ mother in jeans and top.  She waddles as she walks to the rubbish bin, proud of her bump, happy to share. She smiles at other passengers as she returns to her place.  An elderly couple laugh as her toddler son scampers to meet her.

Then further away a huddle of women dressed in black top to toe, take their seats.  The mound that appears under the fabric identifies yet another mum to be.

Then I watch the couple to my left. He is very attentive.  In fact if he were my partner I would be telling him to leave me alone. He is very intense and constantly strokes the girl’s abdomen.  She is very young. Her feet are on top of one another under the chair.  She moves his hand and says “stop it”.  Goodness had she heard my thoughts?

These women that I watch do all have something in common.  As they walk or sit their own hand is found upon their baby, a reassuring touch, to the cargo inside.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Watching”

  1. jules Says:

    Some lovely descriptions – wondering where you are to see so many pregnant women!


    • Hah I failed. “Information stand” “passengers” I thought I was being good at building a picture without saying the word airport. I think I have been to vague. Thanks for the comment.


Leave a Reply

