Home

Time to go East Again Blog 6:  Teaching/Sharing/Learning

July 16, 2016

After a wild round of site-seeing it was now down to business again.  Emiko had lined up a few lectures for me at Kobe Municiple University and Kobe City University to give, with regard to Global Midwifery and a Comparison of UK and Japanese Midwifery.

I even gave one lecture on UK Pharmacy and their role in pregnancy. A challenge, but the pharmacy students appeared to enjoy.  Emiko was beyond wonderful with her translation skills.  We seemed to make a great team.  She is very distinguished in her career in Japan and has written many books.  I was worried about the demotion to translator but she appeared to enjoy it. It is rare for a English midwife to speak in Japan.

1468054585056

It was an honour to talk to these nursing and midwifery students. They were attentive in the main but there were a few who nodded off. I was reassured this was not my teaching technique but the busy lives Japanese students have to fund their studies.

I was honoured to have lunch with a group of midwifery students and their lecturers.

 

But of course after the teaching was over there was time for food.

20160704_193850

Japanese Pizza  Delicious and far less calorific than the UK kind

I have really become accustomed now to eating with chop stix. I might do this at home it really makes you slow down and enjoy each morsel of food.  I think I have lost weight as a result.

 

 

 

My blogs are getting behind now.  I have already moved on to Cambodia but I will complete the Japan experience very soon.

Leave a Reply

