Home

Time to Go East Again Blog 12: Doing Dubai

August 20, 2016

Well what can I say.  After the busy modern world of Japan and the deeply contrasting Cambodia I don’t think I had prepared myself for the skyline of Dubai. I only had two days left.  I needed to see all I could!

20160729_101549.jpg

The reason for my visit was primarily to visit my friend who had lived there for some years. We had met in Saudi Arabia while working there nine years ago. She had met and now married an English guy and they were happily living in Dubai.  I could not wait to see them as they had had twins, a boy and a girl six months ago.

I stayed in a lovely hotel. Could not believe the decadence of it all after the poverty of Phnom Penh. I knew I was in luxury when they quickly picked up my bags from the car and put them on a trolley to take them into the hotel.  This is not my usual form of residence but I was going to enjoy. There were four restaurants in the hotel, a pool and a spa!

 

I spent the first day on a Big Bus tour. The concept completely stolen from the London Bus tour where you can pop on and off around a particular route. A great way to get to know the city with English guide via earphones.  Met a lovely family from India we had a  great time.

The city is just amazing. If you love modern architecture this is your paradise.  They even have air conditioned bus stops for the locals, as the temperature can get up to 50 degrees.  How considerate.

20160729_115231

It is clean and dusty at the same time. You cannot get away from the fact that we are in the desert. There are still old buildings too which they are trying to care for and restore.

 

 

I shared the old city tour with a really nice guy from Australia.  He had just moved to Dubai to employment.  Getting his bearings before he started actual work.

I finished the day on the river on a Dow.  A great end to the day in the evening sunshine with a beer.  Yes a beer in Dubai. As a tourist they accept we drink alcohol.    But best not to over do it hey.

 

 

I really had wanted to go up the Burj Khalifa but be warned, if you don’t buy tickets in advance you are unlikely to get your opportunity. I missed mine.

 

20160729_152007.jpg

 

So hmm, what could I do.  I know,  I could go on a helicopter ride. Yey!

I had never flown in a helicopter and to see the city from the sky would be amazing. I was not disappointed.  I was also lucky that on the weight allocation for seats, I got to sit next to the pilot. How amazing was that!

 

It was truly fantastic to see the famous ‘palm’ from the sky.  The Dubai skyline looked very movie like in the distance.  It is really strange to have this “city” right here in the desert.

20160730_103707.jpg

 

20160730_102419

 

And I went higher than the Burj Kahlifa in the end. result!

So. on to the twins.  It was great to meet up with my friend, her husband and the beautiful babies.  Mum and I escaped for a catch up lunch together then back for more children time.

20160730_162349.jpg

 

Sadly I left Ella and Grayson and their mum, knowing I would not see them again for quite a while.  Children grow and they would never be quite the same.

 

Onwards and upwards. Flight back to the UK and my mum back in Manchester.

 

Leave a Reply

